There was a baddy lover, who lived in a shoe

I love badminton and it was a part of my duties as a sports journalist to cover this sport. It is always a thrilling and energising experience to be at any badminton tournament, doesn’t matter if its a district level tournament or a Super Series. And now that we have some great badminton players, it’s an even cheery experience to watch the matches as the crowd cheers on.

For the first time, after I quit my job to take a break post-marriage, I travelled to New Delhi to watch the third Indian Open Super Series in April 2013 to attend this tournament purely as a ‘spectator’. And trust me, if you are covering a tournament, the chances are you might overlook certain interesting bits on court, but as a spectator stories would just jump up in your face.

And so that April I was mesmerised by how colourful and vibrant badminton players’ apparels and shoes are.  This time I had a camera with me and had ample time to laze around at the Siri Fort Stadium.

Neon is particularly in fashion and it was surprising (and unsettling) to see some players wear it. Badminton superpower China had this eye-popping florescent orange uniform with matching shoes and it seemed they were trying to blind their opponents across the net. I just went crazy looking at all those colourful shoes!

FYI, the single pair of shoes in yellow, belong to our super star PV Sindhu. 😉 Her entire picture took too much of space.

2 thoughts on “There was a baddy lover, who lived in a shoe

Leave a Reply

